KryptonKrewmembers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mass Effect

+2
General Specific
gnurd
6 posters

Go down

Mass Effect Empty Mass Effect

Post  gnurd Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:36 pm

This is the story of how I stopped playing Mass Effect a mere nine hours in and even considered stopping earlier.

It came up on Steam for $5, and I had heard good things, so I purchased it. I started playing the game shortly after and thought it was alright. But after a short time, I just got really bored with it. It's a bad sign when a game doesn't make you want to play it.

I think it started with being annoyed by the combat gameplay. And then there was a whole lot of reading it wanted me to do to understand the world my character supposedly grew up in; not a great method of immersive storytelling. When the combat and story elements of an action RPG are both lacking, there's not much else to enjoy.

So I stopped playing that and installed Borderlands, which has a unique style, humor, and story. I was sucked in immediately.

Maybe I am just sick of space marine games, maybe I couldn't stand such a limiting RPG after coming off of Oblivion, or maybe Soldier was just the wrong class to pick. Maybe I'll give it another chance someday, but Mass Effect is just a big ol' MEH right now.
gnurd
gnurd
No Life

http://www.skippinginfinity.com

Back to top Go down

Mass Effect Empty Re: Mass Effect

Post  General Specific Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:47 pm

I loved Mass Effect mainly because of the story. Yeah it requires a lot of reading, but you don't have to read all of the background stuff. And I really enjoyed the combat, but I also like FPSes, so it was only a little different from what I was used to. The micromanaging your inventory got a bit frustrating after a while, though. Anyway, just my opinions.
General Specific
General Specific
Thock!

Back to top Go down

Post  Tiq Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:19 am